On January 12, Pete Christensen filed a letter with the Village Administrator/Clerk-Treasurer, stating he will be moving from the Village on January 31 and will no longer be eligible to serve as Village President. Mr. Christensen was first elected as Village President in April 2013 and was re-elected in April 2015. In September 2016, he informed the Village Board that he may be moving after the first of the year. Mr. Christensen filed a notice of non-candidacy in December, indicating he will not seek re-election.

At its regular meeting on January 12, the Village Board appointed Susan Sanabria to fill the remainder of the term as Village President, effective on February 1. Ms. Sanabria has served as a Village Trustee since August 2013 and she is the only candidate running for Village President this April. The Village Board also approved the appointment of Charles Manning to the Village Trustee position that will be vacated by Ms. Sanabria on February 1. Mr. Manning is the only non-incumbent running for Village Trustee this April.

The Village Board will be recognizing Pete Christensen for his service to Wind Point at the upcoming meeting on February 9, 2017.